I Protest No One, But Stand For Many

There are so many emotions around the inauguration today, and for me, all of the days leading to today since November.  It’s a little odd that my birthday falls on January 21st. So every 4 years immediately preceding my personal “holiday” I’m either very happy or sad in the face of a new inauguration. This is an odd time for sure. I’ve never felt so strongly. I’ve never cared so much. I think part of it is my age and I’m leaning to be aware of others more as I mature in my life and in my Christian walk.

Like I said, this is an odd time in history, and in someways it feels like some undesirable chapters of history are trying to repeat themselves. I try very hard to keep my political views off of Facebook because I want it to be an avenue for me connect with friends from across the country. I do utilize Twitter primarily for news and political information and opinion sharing. One of the reasons why I waited so long to begin blogging was because I didn’t know how to approach divisive issues in this format. When I rang in the new year I decided that I should just feel free to speak my mind on my own blog. I’m always very careful not to offend people because I’m a protector, not a fighter. Being a protector is my greatest strength and greatest weakness at the same time.

Here’s my take on the election. I have no expectation that Trump will change who he is at this stage of the game. I did listen to his swearing in and speech today. I thought a lot of things and said to myself, “OK Mr. President, in your first speech as President you made big promises about how All Americans will be heard and taken care of. I don’t trust your wotds so I am watching your actions. I am holding you accountable beginning today.” Since Congress has been sworn in a few weeks ago I’ve been holding them accountable to represent their citizens instead of their fellow party members. I’ve written and called more congressmen in the last 3 weeks than I have in my entire life. I will continue to do so.The government holds me accountable. I pay my taxes and obey the law. The road goes both ways.

I have been very fortunate in my life to have met so many great people. I’m not joking. I’ll go to my grave knowing I’m the luckiest person alive because of the family I’ve been given and because of the incredible people who have crossed my path these past 4 decades (that makes me sound a little younger than if I said the past 46 years).Many of those people voted differently than I did. I know these people and have loved them for years. They’ve loved me well for a very long time. They’re not ignorant. I’ve witnessed their interactions with persons of color, LGBT persons, the elderly and the poor, lots of people. They treat others with respect. We all have room for growth and that most certainly includes myself. This is my opinion of the election and this will be my only comment on it. Most Americans are yearning for a better country. That doesn’t mean that I think that the US is a train wreck, but for sure there are many areas that we need to continue to improve on. I put my faith in Hillary Clinton. I felt like she had the know how and skills to bring about a lot of positive change to the country. I agreed with her on most issues. I really believe that a lot of people who voted for Donald Trump was speaking from a place of economic pressure and social frustration, as most of us are feeling, and they placed their bets on him to make things better. In my opinion I think it was a bad bet. I think his supporters were able to look past his personal flaws because they believed that he was going to get the job done. It all remains to be seen. Like I said earlier, beginning today I acknowledge him as the President, but I’m also holding him accountable.

Tomorrow I go to Washington with persons from around the United States and from around the globe. I will march with them. I protest no one but I stand for many. I stand for myself. I am stronger when I am motivated by purpose and not by anger. I always lose when I dwell on anger. Believe me, I  will work to be heard by all branches of the government. If someone else were sworn in today there would still be reason to stand up on January 21st.  The shamefully partisan congress who has ignored the will of the American people for years still has some answering to do. Throughout my life people have told me to stand up for myself. I’m sometimes perceived as a pushover or a bleeding heart. So I’m taking a lot of people’s advice and standing up for myself and those I care about.

Here’s A List of A Few Things I Care About:

  1. Equal rights for all
  2. Accessible healthcare for everyone
  3. Compassion for the poor
  4. Honor for the elderly
  5. Protection of the environment
  6. Hospitality for strangers
  7. Fair taxation
  8. Security for children and the oppressed
  9. Respect for Veterans
  10. Economic policy that safeguards the future
  11. Educational opportunities for all who want to learn
  12. Safe communities

Yes we can afford it. We actually can’t afford to eliminate any of these things. It’s all about balance and smart spending and being resourceful. Many of us middle class people are very good and well versed with creative financing. That’s why we need to be represented. That’s why we should be listened to. That’s why more of us need to run for office. So, I’m going to Washington tomorrow.

 

 

Author: lengle121

I am a recipient of huge grace. I am committed to being a person of grace as I struggle to navigate "the narrow road." My commitment to being a person of grace is steadfast. The execution of that task.... let's just say the struggle is real. Our actions are shaped by this pursuit, our character is refined by it. God help us all!

One thought on “I Protest No One, But Stand For Many”

  1. “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, FIXING OUR EYES ON JESUS, THE AUTHOR AND PERFECTER OF OUR FAITH. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.”
    ‭‭Hebrews‬ ‭12:1-3‬ ‭NIV‬‬

    Any time we put our hope or faith in humankind, we will be greatly disappointed. FIX YOUR EYES ON JESUS.
    I love you Lisa!
    ✌🏼Katy

    Like

Leave a comment